(Updated!) FanBridge goes Facebook!

(Scroll to the bottom for the update!)
Woah! For those of you musicians who use FanBridge for email management, lucky you!! Lucky us!
FanBridge just announced that it acquired damnthradio, Inc. which will enable you to create some sweet Facebook pages. Enablers! I love it. 🙂
Here is the article: FanBridge Acquires Damntheradio, Inc.

I’m going to have to give it some thought before I switch. Currently, I use BandPage by RootMusic:

check out the bells and whistles here They offer a free version that is a bit more basic. Customization will cost you $20 a year so, I’m wondering what the terms are for FanBridge integration. I’ve known them to be incredibly conscientious when it comes to working with musicians trying to stretch a dollar so, I’m betting it will be a good deal. It’s also a plus to have Facebook integration and email management in one place if you go the FanBridge route.

Also, @makeitinmusic (a great follow, by the way) recently tweeted about MoonToast as a new way to sell, share and in all ways market your music on Facebook. It looks like they’ve included all the things a musician needs to connect with fans but you have to “request a demo” to get more info which tells me they are likely to be pricey or they are not targeting the indie musician. I want you to know I gave up my phone number to get info on this. Geez! I hate that I have to do that. It probably means I’m going to get a pushy sales call. I’ll keep you updated.

 – LM

UPDATE: Guess what? MoonToast contacted me. Kudos to them for using email. No phone call. Yay!!! Ha-ever…(that was southern speak) all you get for free is a very (and I mean very) basic widget to sell music only. And, you have to click a link to get to it. (That is not helpful for impulse buying at all). So, in my opinion, it’s not as cool as RootMusic’s $20/year widget but, hey, it’s free. If you want MoonToast’s fancy-schmancy, full-fledged store like the one, say, Reba McEntire has (I still don’t think it’s as sweet as RootMusic’s) then you have to pay a very large set up fee plus make a minimum of $250/month. Ok, clearly for the big time artists with a lot of sales.
Now I’ll have to wait and see what FanBridge has in store for us. 🙂

